IPSY Glam Bag: July 2020 Review

IPSY Glam Bag: July 2020 Review

This post may contain affiliate links. This means we may receive a small commission, at no extra cost to you, if you make a purchase through one of our links. Read the full disclosure here.

 

IPSY is an extremely popular beauty subscription service that delivers subscribers a “Glam Bag” filled with full-size and deluxe sample-size beauty products. There are three types of Glam Bags offered by IPSY, each with different perks and set at a different subscription cost ranging from $12 to $50 per month. There is the Glam Bag, Glam Bag Plus, and Glam Bag Ultimate.

Today’s review will be on the July 2020 Glam Bag.

A typical Glam Bag includes 5 deluxe-sized beauty samples or full-size products. These products are customized based on how you answer your beauty quiz upon signing up. Based on your preferences, you’ll receive a mix of makeup, haircare, skincare, and nail products. Along with an IPSY membership comes the Choice Perk, where Glam Bag members get to hand-pick one item of choice that goes in your bag.

 

About Ipsy Glam Bag

The Subscription Box: IPSY Glam Bag
Cost: $12 a month
What You’ll Get: A monthly makeup bag filled with deluxe samples of makeup and beauty products.
Shipping Details: Ships to US for free and Canada for $2.95

Let’s take a peek inside my July 2020 Glam Bag!

Note: There are so many different variations of the IPSY Glam Bag each month. What’s inside will depend on members’ beauty preferences. This review is just one of the many combinations you might receive.

IPSY Glam Bag: July 2020 Review

This month’s theme is “Take a Break”. The beauty card that came with the bag provided 5 fun tips to having the ultimate beauty staycation. Since many of us don’t plan on traveling due to the pandemic, the theme of this bag is so fitting.

My first impression of the July 2020 Glam Bag was that it’s very 90’s summer-themed! I love the nostalgic pink and yellow design on the makeup bag, plus the retro font used. I also noticed that the products within this month’s bag were focused on recharging and reenergizing the body and face.

IPSY Glam Bag: July 2020 Review

I received the following deluxe samples:

Murad Essential-C Day Moisture Broad Spectrum SPF 30 PA+++, 0.33 fl oz (Estimated Value: $12.62)
($65 for the full-size product – 1.7 fl oz)

I love Murad products, so I was so thrilled to have received this in my Glam Bag. I feel like I’m always on the lookout for moisturizers with SPF that don’t feel heavy, greasy, or “SPF-y” but I’m always hesitant to actually pull the trigger and buy them.

I used this on my face right before heading out for a weekend hike and found that it was lightweight, gave me a slightly dewy look, and also smelled really good! The fact that it also contains Vitamin C and SPF makes it one of my new favorite SPF moisturizers! Definitely going to use this on my days out in the strong Los Angeles sun.

IPSY Glam Bag: July 2020 Review

Ciaté London Watermelon Burst Hydrating Primer,  0.34 fl oz (Estimated Value: $7)
$28 for the full-size product – 1.35 oz

At first, I thought this was a tube of lip gloss (which I would not have been interested in), but upon further investigation, I realized it was a gel-based primer! I’m used to creamier primers, so this product seemed really innovative to me.

The Watermelon Primer is a lightweight, multitasking primer that hydrates, brightens, and improve skin’s texture—all while prepping for long-lasting makeup. It features watermelon extract droplets that activate upon contact to quench and energize the skin. I love the watermelon concept, so fitting for summer!

I haven’t been wearing too much makeup these days during the pandemic, but when I tried this out on my hand, oh boy was it a smooth and refreshing feeling! Can’t wait for my next day out so I can try it out for real.

the SAEM Natural Facial Mask Sheet, pack of 2 (Estimated value: $2.50)
$16 for the full-size product – 13 Pack

Oh, how I love sheet masks! I got two sheet masks in the Glam Bag–one was Shea Butter and the other was Avocado. Based on the ingredients, I instantly knew that these were going to be hydrating.

Each mask does have a natural scent correlating to the main ingredient on the cover, but it’s not overwhelming or overpowering at all. It was fresh, light, and made my skin feel so hydrated after 25 minutes of allowing my skin to drink it all in! After using both of these, I actually think I’m going to buy more, considering they’re a little over $1 per mask, which is a total steal.

IPSY Glam Bag: July 2020 Review

Benefit Cosmetics 24-HR Brow Setter Clear Eyebrow Gel, 0.06 fl oz (Estimated value: $6)
$24 for the full-size product – 0.23 oz

I love that in my first IPSY Glam Bag ever, I got a Benefit Cosmetics product! I absolutely love this brand (especially their bronzer and mascara products). What this is: an invisible brow gel that shapes, sets, and locks in brow color for 24 hours.

Not going to lie, I have pretty long eyebrow hairs that can sometimes get unruly, but would I ever pay for a product to tame them? Not worth my time or money. Which is why I’m so happy I got a brow setter as part of my bag, so I don’t have to go to the store and buy one myself!

Upon trying it on my eyebrows, I noticed this stuff has crazy good hold, almost like a hairspray. It will dry to a bit of a stiff finish, but it doesn’t look unnatural at all. A little goes a long way with this product. Needless to say, my eyebrows looked on fleek after a whole day of exploring the city.

IPSY Glam Bag: July 2020 Review

Final Thoughts

I was pretty impressed with which products IPSY chose for me. It was pretty spot-on since a lot of the products I received were less makeup-related and more skincare-related. (Let’s be honest, I am not wearing makeup these days just for my daily Zoom calls). There were two brands that I had never heard of (Ciate and theSAEM) but both of the samples I got were great products.

Calculating the actual value of the contents, my estimated bag value came out to be $28. That is a pretty good deal for $12, seeing as how these are actually products I can use every day. I also really like the fact that I’ll get a makeup bag every month, with this one being my first! I’ve been needing travel makeup bags pretty badly, so this is a plus!

If you’re considering the IPSY Glam Bag…

IPSY is one of our top recommendations if you are looking for a beauty subscription box – it’s low commitment, super-affordable, and the sample products are a great value.

This subscription service is for you if:

  • You’re looking to experiment with primarily beauty products.
  • You like high-quality products from prestigious brands.
  • You don’t like the commitment of being stuck with full-size products.

Get your very own IPSY Glam Bag by subscribing here!

Check out all of our IPSY reviews and the top beauty subscription boxes we love.

Want more exclusive coupons, deals, and spoilers?

Subscribe to our newsletter. You'll never miss an exclusive offer or a groundbreaking product update!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *